HISTORICAL BACKGROUND OF LUWERO DISTRICT Luwero is commonly known for the 5 year Guerilla war that ravaged the district between 1981 -1986, fought between the Uganda National Liberation Army (UNLA) and other rebel groups mostly the National Resistance Army which later became the known as Uganda People’s Defense Force (UPDF). The war left Luwero Economically, Socially, Administratively and Infrastructures divested. Luwero was part of the former East Mengo District with its headquarters in Bombo. In 1974, East Mengo was split into two districts namely, Mukono and Luwero District. Luwero was composed of 4 Counties; Buruli, Nakaseke, Katikamu and Bamamunika. In 2005, Buruli and Nakaseke curved out of Luwero District. Luwero District today comprises two Counties Katikamu and Bamunanika, Three Constituencies; Katikamu North,Katikamu South and Bamunanika, ten Sub Counties and eight Town Councils among the lower local governments.